The CIS operates on the basis of the Charter adopted by the Council of Heads of State and Government on 22 January 1993, which defines the objectives and principles of the Commonwealth and the rights and obligations of countries. The Charter states that the Commonwealth was created on the basis of the sovereign equality of all its members and that Member States are independent of international law and equal. The Charter also stipulates that the CIS is intended to develop and strengthen friendship, inter-ethnic agreement, trust, mutual understanding and cooperation between states. In 2009, a new agreement for the creation of a free trade agreement, the CISFTA, was adopted in Serden. [69] In October 2011, the new free trade agreement was signed by eight of the 11 CIS Prime Ministers; Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan and Ukraine at a meeting in St. Petersburg. The treaty was originally ratified only by Russia, Belarus and Ukraine[71] [72] [72], but until the end of 2012 Kazakhstan, Armenia and Moldova had also completed ratification. [73] [74] In December 2013, Uzbekistan signed and ratified the treaty[76], while the other two signatories, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan, ratified the treaty in January 2014 and December 2015, respectively. [77] [78] Azerbaijan is the only CIS member state not to participate in the free trade area. Although Ukraine was one of the states that ratified the founding agreement in December 1991 and made it a founding state of the CIS, it chose not to ratify the CIS charter[26] because it does not agree with the fact that Russia is the only state of succession of the Soviet Union. Thus, it has never been a full member of the CIS. [10] [28] However, Ukraine has continued to participate in the CIS, even though it was not a member. In 1993, Ukraine became an associate member of the CIS Economic Union.

[29] The areas of joint action by Member States, carried out on an equal footing by common coordination institutions, in line with the commitments made by Member States within the Commonwealth, include the guarantee of human rights and fundamental freedoms, the coordination of external activities, cooperation in the creation and development of a common economic area. , common European and Eurasian markets and customs policy; cooperation in the development of transport and communication systems; Protecting health and the environment social policy and migration issues; The fight against organised crime; Cooperation in defence and external border management. This list can be attached with the agreement of the Member States. The Coordinating Advisory Committee is an ongoing executive and coordinating body for the implementation Commonwealth.In decisions of the Council of Heads of State or Government and the Council of Heads of State or Government committee: project and presents proposals on issues of cooperation in the Commonwealth, on the development of socio-economic relations; facilitate the implementation of agreements in specific directions of economic relations; Organizing conferences of representatives and experts to develop draft documents to facilitate the work of other Commonwealth bodies during the sessions of the Council of Heads of State or Government and the Council of Heads of State or Government. The Council of Heads of State and Government on 19 September was chaired by Mr.


Related Posts